RELEASE: EOG Resources Chairman and CEO, Bill Thomas, Honored with TXOGA’s Distinguished Service Award

October 24, 2018

HOUSTON – William R. “Bill” Thomas, chairman and chief executive officer of EOG Resources, Inc., received the 2018 Distinguished Service Award from the Texas Oil & Gas Association (TXOGA) at the Lone Star Energy Forum in Houston, Texas.

“The Distinguished Service Award is one of the oldest and most prestigious honors bestowed on members of our industry,” said Trevor Rees-Jones, CEO of Chief Oil and Gas and chairman of the Distinguished Service Award Committee. “Every year since 1936, we have honored select colleagues such as Bill Thomas who have made extraordinary contributions to the oil and natural gas industry and to the nation.”

“Bill Thomas exemplifies the ingenuity, innovation and perseverance that have defined the Texas oil and natural gas industry for more than 100 years,” said Todd Staples, TXOGA president. “Men and women like Bill provide vision and leadership that ensure the oil and natural gas industry can continue to secure our economy, our environment and our future.”

Headquartered in Houston, Texas, EOG Resources, Inc. is a leading U.S. independent exploration and production company and a pioneer in the development of unconventional horizontal shale resources. Mr. Thomas was named Chairman of the Board and Chief Executive Officer effective January 2014. Prior to that, he served as President and Chief Executive Officer from July 2013 through December 2013 and as President from September 2011 to July 2013. Mr. Thomas previously held other leadership positions at EOG, including Senior Executive Vice President, Exploitation and Senior Executive Vice President, Exploration. Mr. Thomas has been with EOG and its predecessor companies for over 39 years.

Mr. Thomas has also previously served as the General Manager of EOG’s Fort Worth, Texas, Midland, Texas and Corpus Christi, Texas offices, where he was instrumental in EOG’s successful exploration, development and exploitation of various key resource plays. Mr. Thomas joined HNG Oil Company, a predecessor of EOG, in January 1979.


Distinguished Service Award Honorees Since 2007


G. Steven Farris

Rex W. Tillerson



James F. Justiss, Jr.

Morris E. Foster



Mark G. Papa

George L. Kirkland


B. M. Rankin, Jr.

John B. Hess



Curtis W. Mewbourne

John S. Watson



James C. Flores

Marvin E. Odum



Trevor D. Rees-Jones

Ryan M. Lance



Scott D. Sheffield

Lee M. Tillman

Robert L. Looney



Jon Rex Jones

Stephen I. Chazen



Al Walker

Tim Leach


William R. “Bill” Thomas





Stay Updated

Get quick updates in our e‑newsletter.

Related Updates

November 30, 2023

Check out our Month in Review for September below to see how TXOGA was busy advocating for the Texas oil and natural gas industry

Subscribe to our mailing list!

Sign up for our newsletter to stay updated on all the latest news and events.

NOTE: Fields with an asterisk * are required.

Contact us

If you are interested in Formula Membership please complete the form and we will be in touch shortly.

NOTE: Fields with an asterisk * are required.