TXOGA Ad Valorem Tax Committee Annual Conference





Contact Layne Wroblewski at (405) 228-4495 for any questions.

DAY 1           Wednesday, March 1st

8:30 AM          Call to Order and Welcoming Address

Kerry Albright, Tax Business Partner—Chevron

Tax Committee Chair—TXOGA

8:35 AM          TXOGA Remarks & Legislative Issues (Todd Staples, President—TXOGA)

9:00 AM          The Honorable Drew Springer

                        Texas State Senator for District-30

9:25 AM          Section 23.01(e): Who cares about the Legislature’s Intent?

Cole Hutchison, Associate—IkardYoung LLP

9:50 AM          The Outlook for the Texas Economy and State Finances

Dale Craymer, President—Texas Taxpayers and Research Association (TTARA)

10:30 AM        Global Oil Market Outlook

John Saucer, Vice President Crude Markets—Mobius Risk Group

11:20 AM        The Honorable Glenn Hegar, Texas Comptroller

12:45 PM         Property Tax Code 23.175 and valuation volatility

Rodney Kret, RPA, Manager, Engineering Services—Pritchard & Abbott, Inc.

1:35 PM           What Have the Courts Done to Us Now? 2022-2023 Case Law Review

John BrusniakBrusniak Turner Fine LLP

2:40 PM           Workforce Transformation after COVID—Trends and changes to Human Capital

                        Patti Wilkie Proietti, GPHR, Principal, & Jonathan Moore, Cnslg. Mng. Dir., Deloitte

3:30 PM           Property Tax Assistance Division Update

Doug Kubecka, Property Tax Assistance Dvsn.—Texas Comptroller

3:55 PM           Presentation of the 2022 TXOGA John Valenta Distinguished Service Award

Recognizing Joe D. Baker, CMI

Upstream Subcommittee Report

Ron Kane, CMI, Dir. of Prop. Tax—EOG Resources, Inc. & Upstream Sbcmte. Chair

4:10 PM           Midstream Subcommittee Report

Michael Dimitt, CMI, Director of Property Tax —Plains All American Pipeline, L. P.

Midstream Subcommittee Chair

4:25 PM           Downstream Subcommittee Report

Tommy (Chip) L. Twomey II, CMI, Tax Mgr.—Marathon Petroleum Corporation

Downstream Subcommittee Chair

4:40 PM           Ad Valorem Tax Legislative Update

Darren D. Owen, CMI, Property Tax Manager—ExxonMobil

4:55 PM           Presentation of the 2022 TXOGA John Valenta Distinguished Service Award

Recognizing Donna K. Lawrence, CMI, Property Tax Manager, Denbury, Inc.

DAY 2           Thursday, March 2nd

8:45 AM          Call to Order and Conference Notes

Kerry Albright

Layne Wroblewski, CPA, Tax Manager—Devon Energy

Property Tax Committee Chairman—TXOGA

9:00 AM          The ESG Deck May Be Stacked But Energy Can Still Thrive

                        Dan Romito, Consulting Partner—Pickering Energy Partners

9:50 AM          The Honorable Paul Bettencourt

Texas State Senator District-7

10:35 AM        Break

10:50 AM        Challenges in Refining Valuation—Outlook & Trends

(Karl Bartholomew, PE, ASA, MRICS, Tax Lead, Property Tax and Incentives—Shell)

11:15 AM        Ethics for Property Tax Representatives:  A Commonsense Approach!

                        Tracey Landrum Foster, Co-owner & General Counsel—Hugh L. Landrum & Assoc.

  • To pay for your registration with a check, make your check payable to TXOGA and bring to the conference registration desk or mail both the check and a copy of the invoice to:

Texas Oil & Gas Association (TXOGA, Inc.)

Attn: Ad Valorem Tax Conference

304 W 13th Street

Austin, TX 78701

Thank you to our corporate members who are TXOGA Sponsors:

We thank our generous sponsors for their leadership and their participation in our conference:



Wednesday Morning Break Sponsor


DuCharme, McMillen & Associates, Inc.

Wednesday Afternoon Break Sponsor


Hospitality Suite Sponsor






Christian Brown

Subscribe to our mailing list!

Sign up for our newsletter to stay updated on all the latest news and events.

NOTE: Fields with an asterisk * are required.

Contact us

If you are interested in Formula Membership please complete the form and we will be in touch shortly.

NOTE: Fields with an asterisk * are required.