Election Night Results

March 2, 2016

Super Tuesday has come to a close and the first phase of the 2016 elections is almost complete with only a few races still too close to call.

TXOGA PAC was active in many races this cycle and a summary of the results for these key races is shown below.  For a listing of all the results of the Texas races click HERE to visit the Secretary of State’s website.

Now, it’s off to the run-off elections and there is still time for you to get involved with TXOGA PAC’s 2016 efforts.

Contact TXOGA PAC Coordinator, Lisa Lucero to get involved. Click the button below or email her directly at lisa@txogapac.org.


Pol. Ad Paid For By TXOGA PAC

Railroad Commission Race Update

In the Republican Primary for Railroad Commission, there will be a runoff between Gary Gates and Wayne Christian.  The runoff is scheduled for May 24, 2016.  On the Democratic side, Grady Yarborough and Cody Garrett will compete in the runoff.  Former State Representative Lon Burnam did not make the runoff.

Results as of 5am,  Wednesday, March 2, 2016:

Gary Gates 28.4%

Wayne Christian 19.9%

Ron Hale 14.7%

Lance Christian 12.1%

Weston Martinez 10%

Doug Jeffrey 9.3%

John Greytok 5.7%


TXOGA PAC Endorsed Slate of Candidates for the 2016 Primary Election Outcomes   


Office                                                  Candidate                                                      Outcome                                

Supreme Court Place 5                       Justice Eva Guzman                                        Won

Supreme Court Place 9                       Justice Paul Green                                           Won


State Senate

District                                    Candidate                                                                  Outcome                                

19                                          Carlos Uresti   (D-San Antonio)                                 Won

26                                          Jose Menendez (D-San Antonio)                                Won

27                                          Eddie Lucio (D-Brownsville)                                     Won


Texas House of Representatives

District                                    Candidate                                                                  Outcome                                

121                                          Speaker Joe Straus (R-San Antonio)                          Won

2                                          Representative Dan Flynn (R-Van)                            Won

7                                          Jay Dean (R-Longview)                                              Won

8                                          Rep. Byron Cook (R-Corsicana)                                 Won

11                                          Rep. Travis Clardy (R-Nacogdoches)                         Won

12                                          Rep. Kyle Kacal (R-Bryan)                                         Won

14                                          Rep. John Raney (R-College Station)                         Won

17                                          Rep. John Cyrier (R-Bastrop)                                     Won

20                                          Rep. Marsha Farney (R-Georgetown)                         Lost

36                                          Rep. Sergio Munoz (D-Palmview)                              Won

37                                          Rep. Rene Oliveira (D-Brownsville)                           Won

47                                          Rep. Paul Workman (R-Austin)                                  Won

58                                          Rep. Dewayne Burns (R-Cleburne)                            Won

59                                          Rep. J.D. Sheffield (R-Gatesville)                              Won

60                                          Kevin Downing (R-Granbury)                                    Lost

65                                          Rep. Ron Simmons (R-Carrollton)                             Won

73                                          Rep. Doug Miller (R-New Braunfels)                        Run-Off

81                                          Rep. Brooks Landgraf (R-Odessa)                             Won

84                                          Rep. John Frullo (R-Lubbock)                                    Won

89                                          Rep. Jodie Laubenberg (R-Parker)                             Won

99                                          Rep. Charlie Geren (R-Fort Worth)                            Won

112                                          Rep. Angie Chen Button (R-Garland)                        Won

113                                          Rep. Cindy Burkett (R-Sunnyvale)                            Won

114                                          Rep. Jason Villalba (R-Dallas)                                    Won

115                                          Bennett Ratliff (R-Coppell)                                        Lost

127                                          Rep. Dan Huberty (R-Houston)                                 Won

128                                          Rep. Wayne Smith (R-Baytown)                                Run-Off

134                                          Rep. Sarah Davis (R-Houston)                                   Won

137                                          Rep. Gene Wu (R-Houston)                                       Won

150                                          Debbie Riddle (R-Spring)                                           Lost

*All candidates have received the PAC endorsement based on their individual evaluations and the balloting process. Some candidates also received monetary contributions based on the aforementioned process and availability of funds.

Stay Updated

Get quick updates in our e‑newsletter.

Subscribe to our mailing list!

Sign up for our newsletter to stay updated on all the latest news and events.

NOTE: Fields with an asterisk * are required.

Contact us

If you are interested in Formula Membership please complete the form and we will be in touch shortly.

NOTE: Fields with an asterisk * are required.